shake it up!

I am currently on a shake/smoothie kick and let me tell you, I’ve concocted one that can’t be beat! This particular protein shake is great for a quick breakfast to fuel your morning, or awesome as a post-workout meal. Don’t let the spinach or flaxseed scare you away – this filling,  nutrient-dense shake is comparable to a dessert (and no I’m not just saying that). I mean, how can you go wrong with a chocolate, peanut butter and banana combo?!  Tasty as it is healthy, this is a recipe you won’t want to pass up!

What you need:
– 1 banana
– 1 c. almond milk (I like unsweetened vanilla)
– 1/2 c. quick oats
– 1 scoop chocolate whey [or your choice of] protein powder
– 2 tbs. chunky peanut butter OR almond butter
– 1 c. spinach
– 1 tbs. ground flaxseed or flaxseed oil (chia or hemp seed are also great options)
– handful of ice
– pinch of cinnamon
– 1 packet Starbucks VIA instant coffee (optional)

Blend all ingredients. Makes approximately one 16-oz serving. Enjoy!

8 Comments

Filed under Recipes

8 responses to “shake it up!

  1. Love it! I make a smoothie with flaxseed and spinach every morning!
    I’m so glad I found your blog!

    peace&love, Jill
    Favor the Brave

  2. I love smoothies as well, great way to start a day! Thanks for sharing this recipe :)

  3. I’ve been looking to get more into smoothies and shakes, and I can’t wait to try this one! Pinning it now! :)

  4. This sounds amazing! I’m not a huge fan of fruit smoothies/shakes, so this sounds really good to me. Can’t wait to try it!
    Do you have a favorite smoothie blender or do you use a regular ol’ blender?

  5. yummers! sounds like a great breakfast! banana and pb are my go to breakfast staples!

Leave a Reply

